These muffins were the saving grace for my first year in grad school, as I had a 7 am science lab both fall and spring semesters.  This meant leaving my house no later than 6 am once or twice a week (because if you’re even 5 mins late to a lab, you’re kicked out or not given credit for it), and, if you know me well, not eating for several hours in the morning is just not an option.  My solution to this?  These easily portable, hearty corn muffins I could eat before lab that would sustain me until the end.

My original inspiration for these was the Trader Joe’s cornbread mix to which you just add oil, milk, and an egg.  However, these were just TOO sweet for my liking (why are all breakfast muffins overly sweet??).  One day, Suzanne sent me an article on DIY cornbread mix, and, VOILA!  This recipe was born.  I had to play with the ingredients over several batches, as cornbread muffins need just the right amount of sweetness.  They need just the right amount vanilla and flour so they’re moist and tasty.  And, of course, my secret weapon to any muffin/loaf recipe – carrots or zucchini!

I hope you enjoy!!!

Michelle
Grad School Muffins (aka, Cornbread Raspberry Muffins)
Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 Cups Whole Wheat flour
  • 3/4 Cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 Cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Cup of skim milk (any milk will do though)
  • 1/2 cup non fat vanilla or plain greek yogurt (optional; reduce milk to 3/4 cup if using; it will make the muffins super moist!)
  • 1/4 Cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 3 large carrots, shredded (or zucchini)
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries or raspberries, fresh or frozen (if using frozen, don’t defrost)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a small bowl
  3. Shred carrots/zucchini into a separate, large bowl and stir in milk, oil, vanilla, and egg until well combined
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until moist
  5. Add fresh/frozen berries and stir until combined (don’t over stir!)
  6. Add to muffin tins or loaf pan
  7. Bake 25-30 minutes or until golden brown (this may take up to 35 mins, depending on your oven)

