banana kale smoothie, banana, kale, smoothie, breakfast, milk and sugar, milkandsugarsisters.wordpress.com, michelle stroebe

So, you may have heard me talk about my obsession with my banana kale smoothie…. many, many times.  This has been my on-the-go, super quick breakfast (or snack) of choice for years now.  I am obsessed with this smoothie.  It has just the right mix of great ingredients – a large portion of veggies, fruit, low-fat dairy, healthy fats (in the walnuts or almonds, if you prefer) – and tastes fabulous.

I will say that this smoothie is not going to be a favorite for all of you.  But, I’m posting it here in case you’re curious and want to try!  I’d suggest starting with kale’s milder sister veggie, spinach, and adding just a little bit at a time until you find the flavor/texture you like. Or, try the smoothie without the veggies and work them into your smoothie routine slowly!  Spinach is an excellent addition to any smoothie, as it’s packed with nutrients, fiber, and is practically undetectable in taste.  I personally prefer kale, but I’ve become very accustomed to the taste and absolutely love raw kale.

(This smoothie without the kale/spinach is an awesome substitute for a milkshake!)

Enjoy!!!

Banana Kale  Smoothie

~1-3 cups raw kale, washed & de-ribbed (sub for spinach, if desired; start with 1 cup and add more to taste)

handful of raw walnuts or almonds

1 tsp vanilla extract

1-2 tsp cocoa powder, to taste (unsweetened)

1 1/2 frozen bananas

1 cup low-fat milk (sub for almond milk, if desired)

 

Blend until smooth and enjoy! YUM!

smoothie, banana kale smoothie, banana, kale, milkandsugarsisters, milk and sugar, michelle stroebe
smoothie, banana kale smoothie, banana, kale, milkandsugarsisters, milk and sugar, michelle stroebe
