In my humble opinion, brussels sprouts have a bad rap.  As a kid, at the mention of the vegetable I would wrinkle my nose in disgust and shout “EEEW!”  (Though, to be fair, this was my reaction to most vegetables when I was younger.)  That all changed one day when Suzanne roasted brussels sprouts with fresh garlic and a little olive oil.  By cooking them in this super simple way, the flavor of the vegetable is highlighted without the sulfur taste that is common to boiled brussels sprouts.  And, trust me, they are delicious!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

~20 brussels sprouts, halved

2 cloves garlic, minced

1-2 tsp olive oil (enough to coat the sprouts)

salt/pepper to taste

pinch red pepper (optional)

Preheat oven to 400.  Toss sprouts with remaining ingredients, making sure you’ve coated the sprouts well.  Roast in oven 20-30 minutes or until slightly browned and crispy, mixing every 10 mins to make sure they cook evenly.

