whole wheat waffles, multigrain waffles, waffles, banana waffles, milk and sugar, milk and sugar sisters, michelle stroebe

My first Saturday off work in well over a month deserved a celebratory breakfast!  My waffle iron has been neglected for close to 6 months, so I decided it was time to dust it off and give it a little love.  I’ve tried (and failed) at many waffle recipes over the years, and I’ve finally just about perfected it – at least to my liking.  I’ve found – again, through much trial and error – that the only way to make good waffles is to have a quality waffle iron.  My favorite so far is from Villa Ware (this isn’t my exact model b/c mine is quite old, but how cute would it be to have heart-shaped waffles!!).

I made these waffles with a 1/2 cup of oatmeal, as I like the hearty crunch the oatmeal gives the waffles.  This is definitely unusual in waffles, so, if you prefer, substitute the 1/2 cup oatmeal for your favorite type of flour – whole wheat, cornmeal, brown rice, etc.  I’ve tried making this recipe with all whole wheat flour and they turn out way too dense and dark.  This is a good compromise.

whole wheat waffles, multigrain waffles, waffles, banana waffles, milk and sugar, milk and sugar sisters, michelle stroebe

I beat the egg white by hand to a soft foam in order to add a light and fluffy texture.  You certainly don’t need to do this, but it is quite easy and really makes a difference in the density of the waffles.

whole wheat waffles, multigrain waffles, waffles, banana waffles, milk and sugar, milk and sugar sisters, michelle stroebe

I also used a frozen banana (I always have pounds of these in my freezer due to my banana obsession!) that I defrosted and mashed into the batter.  I then sliced a fresh banana into the batter just before I added it to the waffle iron.  You can sub the banana for any fruit you like – frozen or fresh (if using frozen, don’t defrost first). Blueberries or strawberries would be delicious! I hope you enjoy!!

whole wheat waffles, multigrain waffles, waffles, banana waffles, milk and sugar, milk and sugar sisters, michelle stroebe

Multi-grain Banana Waffles

3/4 cup unbleached white flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal

2 Tbsp flax seed

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 frozen banana, defrosted & mashed

2 eggs, separated

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 Tbsp canola oil

1 cup LF milk (or almond milk)

1 whole banana, sliced

Add all dry ingredients in a large bowl, mix well, and set aside (flour through ginger).  Separate egg whites into a small bowl; add yolks to a medium bowl.  Add remaining ingredients (through milk) to the egg yolk and stir well.  Beat the egg white by hand until a soft foam forms.  Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir well.  Add the banana slices and stir.  Gently, fold in the egg white until fully incorporated.

Add waffle batter to a preheated waffle iron and cook ~4-5 minutes, until golden brown. Serve with maple syrup or your favorite jam!

